This Week's Leaders

Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Recognize people who are amazing at talent optimization on LinkedIn & we'll donate $10 for every shout out to Triangle, Inc.
Click on the green "Make A Better World" button towards the upper right hand side of the site to learn more.

Where does new employee onboarding start?

I'm curious to hear what people's thoughts are on where new employee onboarding starts.

Does it start once someone has joined the company or before that?

If it is the latter, what might that point (or points) be?

Tagged:

Comments

• That's a great question. As a brand manager, I know employee onboarding starts WAY before their first day. Today, people have mounds of information and experiences available to them with regards to your company at any time. Your website, social media, your press releases, your events, your speaking opportunities, awards you've won, mentions in the news, folks wearing your swag outside of work—ALL build perception of your company before a candidate even walks through your doors. This is why it's so critical to take the time and energy to build a powerful brand and culture (with strong company values!), so that the next time a candidate comes across your brand, they know immediately whether they are the right fit, even before they take an interview.

• To Jenny's point, I think brand recognition starts pre-hire, but onboarding starts before the official start date.

I know, here at PI, we send out a welcome email that includes overview videos of PI and the software, information about our colleagues, and links to help articles so we can get familiar with the company and the software prior to starting.